Distinguished Alumni

Deborah Hersman, MS '00, speaking at the seventh annual Harold Gortner Distinguished Speaker Series at the Fairfax campus

Deborah Hersman, MS '00, Mason Alum of the Year in 2010

Carter School Distinguished Alumnus of the Year

This award recognizes graduates who represent the Carter School and Mason at the highest levels of excellence, thrive in their professional and personal endeavors, and create positive change in their local and global communities.

Past Recipients

2019 – Leila Peterson, MS ‘99

2017 – Alma Abdul-Hadi Jadallah, MAIS ’96, PhD ’06

2016 – Maya Kapsokavadis, ‘09

2015 – Tatsushi Arai, PhD ’05

2014 – Ibrahim Sharqieh, PhD ’06

2013 – Susan Shearhouse, MS ’88

2012 – Craig Zelizer, PhD ’04

2011 – Mary Wade, PhD ’05

2010 – Lisa Schirch, MS’94, PhD’99

2009 – Mohammed Abu-Nimer, PhD’93

In 2018, the Mason Alumni Association celebrated its 50th anniversary and recognized 50 Alumni ExemplarsMin Zaw Oo, MS ’02, PhD ’10 of the Carter School was among this distinguished group. 

George Mason University Alumnus of the Year

The most prestigious honor given by the Mason Alumni Association. First given in 1976, the award is presented annually to alumni who exemplify the distinguished success of a George Mason University degree through their professional and personal achievements. 

2010 – Deborah Hersman, MS ’00

Faculty Member of the Year Award

Each year, the Alumni Association recognizes one distinguished faculty member who exemplifies a commitment to scholarship, teaching, and service. Nominations are encouraged from students, alumni, and the campus community.

1992 – Kevin Avruch

2017 – Rich Rubenstein